Subscribe
Phone: (662) 562-4897            

Gifted Education

Senatobia Municipal School District

Gifted Education Program

Parent/Teacher Resources 

The following resources are available for check out.  Please contact your child’s school if you would like to check out one or more of the resources.  Annual Evaluation Report available upon request.

  • The Social and Emotional Lives of Gifted Kids
  • Misdiagnosis and Dual Diagnosis of Gifted Children and Adults
  • The Survival Guide for Parents of Gifted Kids
  • When Gifted Kids Don’t Have All The Answers
  • The Gifted Kid’s Survival Guide (Ages 10 and Under)
  • The Gifted Kid’s Survival Guide (A Teen Handbook)
  • The Survival Guide for Teachers of Gifted Kids
  • Teaching Young Gifted Children in the Regular Classroom
  • Teaching Gifted Kids in the Regular Classroom
  • Appropriate Practices for Screening, Identifying & Instructing Gifted/Disabled Youth
  • Expanding Appropriate Assessment & Differentiated Instruction for Culturally Diverse Gifted Students
  • Growing Up Gifted
  • Peer Coaching & Data Analysis
  • Family Math
  • Math For Smarty Pants
  • Positive Reinforcement Activities by Lee Canter
  • A Handbook for Classroom Instruction that Works
  • Differentiating Instruction with Menus (Complete Set)
  • Independent Study for Gifted Students
  • A Menu of Options for Grouping Gifted Students
  • Gifted Child Today Magazine
  • Parenting Gifted Kids
  • Competitions for Talented Kids

 

Frequently Asked Questions 

  •  How do I have my child tested for Gifted Education?

If you would like your child to be tested for the Intellectually Gifted Program (Quest), please contact your child’s homeroom teacher or the Gifted Coordinator at the Central Office.  Senatobia Municipal School District tests students for the Intellectually Gifted Program once a year.  Testing is conducted toward the end of  each school year.  

  •  How does the referral process work?

Please see “Gifted Screening and Referral Process”

  • What grades offer the Intellectually Gifted Program?

The Intellectually Gifted Program begins in 2nd grade and continues through 8th grade.

  •  Once my child qualifies for Gifted Education, do they have to be tested again to remain in the program?

Once a student is determined eligible for a gifted program in Mississippi, no reevaluation testing is required to remain in the program.  Although criteria may vary from district to district, an eligible determination is accepted by all school districts within the State of Mississippi.

  •  What if my child was in Gifted Education in another state?  Would they be automatically eligible in the state of Mississippi?

As each state has a unique set of eligibility criteria for placement in a gifted program, a student moving to Mississippi with a gifted eligibility from another state must satisfy Mississippi eligibility criteria before being considered for placement in the gifted program.  The eligibility ruling from another state may be used to initiate the referral process in Mississippi.  There is no temporary placement in the gifted program while the student goes through the eligibility process within the district.

 

2017-2018 Parent Advocacy Group 

8th Grade Kristen Winstead kwinstead@senatobia.k12.ms.us
  Jarrod Calloway Jcalloway@northwestms.edu
7th Grade Cathy Hope cndhope@gmail.com
  Michelle Richardson athenarichardson@yahoo.com
6th Grade Dana Oursler doursler@senatobia.k12.ms.us
  Laura Brady runningfromthekids@gmail.com
5th Grade Kristina Scruggs kscruggs@senatobia.k12.ms.us
  Deimara Macon dmacon@tscdms.org
4rd Grade Monica Meredith mmeredith@senatobia.k12.ms.us
  Lauren Spencer lspencer@senatobia.k12.ms.us
3rd Grade Amanda Rose arose@senatobia.k12.ms.us 
2nd Grade Faye Walley fwalley@senatobia.k12.ms.us 
     


Intellectually Gifted IMP
 Scope and Sequence
Intellectual Gifted Process Intellectual Gifted Process
FERPA FERPA
Outcomes for Intellectually Gifted Education Programs 2017 Outcomes for Intellectually Gifted Education Programs 2017